Baylor Bears Must Attack Defense in NCAA Transfer Portal

Perhaps Lorando Johnson entering the transfer portal shouldn’t have come as a surprise.

Since October, eight Bears have entered the transfer portal, including four defensive backs (Johnson, Devin Neal, Alfahiym Walcott, and Mike Harris). Three have transferred since Baylor hired Matt Powledge to replace Ron Roberts as defensive coordinator on Dec. 29.

With the notable exception of quarterback, Baylor had been pretty successful in the transfer portal. Former BYU offensive linemen Campbell and Clark Barrington bring talent and experience to a position group that is set to be rocked by graduations, and Arkansas receiver Ketron Jackson and Oklahoma State running back Dominic Richardson add juice to the skill positions. But Baylor has yet to add a defensive player in the portal.

Leave a Comment