Tuohy’s NCAA win earns her USATF Athlete of the Week honors

INDIANAPOLIS — Capturing the NCAA Division I women’s cross country individual title to lead her school to the team trophy, Katelyn Tuohy (Stony Point, New York/USATF New York) earned recognition as the 40th USATF Athlete of the Week award winner for 2022, her second time to be honored this year.


Tuohy, the NCAA outdoor 5,000m champion in June, passed Florida’s Parker Valby in the final stretch to set a course record of 19:27.7 for 6km at the Greiner Family Cross Country Course in Stillwater, Oklahoma, helping North Carolina State to a second consecutive national team trophy.


Valby led through the early stages of the race and built a 12-second margin over Tuohy at the 4km mark. Tuohy started to carve away at that lead over the next kilometer, cutting it to under six seconds, and she surged past Valby up the final hill and ran to victory by three seconds. The Wolfpack tallied 114 points to win the team title by 26 over New Mexico.


Other top performances from last week:

  • Nico Young of Northern Arizona was second in the NCAA Division I men’s cross country championships, clocking 28:44.5 for 10km to help NAU to the school’s third national team trophy.
  • Lina May of William Carey University won the women’s individual title at the NAIA Cross Country Championships, covering the 5km course in 16:50.9 to win by eight seconds.
  • Alex Phillip of John Carroll University won the NCAA Division III men’s cross country individual gold with a 24:37.6 for 8km.
  • Kassie Parker of Loras College won the NCAA Division III women’s individual cross country title by 43 seconds with her 21:06.5 for 6km.

Now in its 21st year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week when there are high-level competitions and features the athlete on USATF.org. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2022 Winners: January 10, Alicia Monson; January 17, Keira D’Amato; January 24, Nyckoles Harbor; January 31, Elle Purrier St. Pierre; February 7, Chris Nilsen; February 14, Grant Fisher; February 21, Camille Herron; February 28, Cole Hocker; March 7, Grant Fisher; March 14, Randolph Ross; March 21, Grant Holloway; March 28, Anna Hall; April 4, Natalie Cook; April 11, Valarie Allman; April 18, Gabby Thomas; April 25, Robyn Stevens; May 2, Erriyon Knighton; May 9, Emily Sisson; May 16, Britton Wilson; May 23, Janee Kassanavoid; May 30, Michael Norman; June 6, Chari Hawkins; June 13, Devon Allen; June 27, Sydney McLaughlin; August 10, Roisin Willis; August 17, Grant Fisher; August 24, Kara Winger; August 31, Alicia Monson; September 7, Kara Winger; September 14, Joe Kovacs; September 21, Biya Simbassa; September 28, Garrett Heath; October 4, Hillary Bor; October 11, Emily Sisson; October 18, Katelyn Tuohy; October 25, Chris Gomez; November 1, Parker Valby; November 8, Adam Peterman; November 15, Tyrone Gorze; November 22, Katelyn Tuohy.

We welcome your nominations!

To nominate an athlete for USATF Athlete of the Week, please send a detailed email about his/her performance to communications@usatf.org.

Join the conversation with USATF on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook using the hashtag #USATF.

Photo Credit: NC State Athletics

Leave a Comment